Two Spring Trends In One

image

This spring I’ve been looking to fashion trends for inspiration for my nail designs. I happened upon a You Tube video for H&M’s Spring 2011 lookbook that had cool-toned spring colors, neutrals, and stripes…classic spring trends. Below is summary shot of some of their looks.

For this mani, I was inspired by the 2 looks on the right: the striped skirt and the long flowing dress. So I painted my entire nail using China Glaze’s For Audrey, quite possibly their most popular shade ever, and used 2 Art Deco Nail Art Stripers in Black and White to create stripes on one half of each nail.

Let me tell you, this mani has gotten a lot of positive feedback because of the (unintentional) optical illusion effect that occurs when people view it from different angles. I can’t wait to play with this effect in the future!

From one side, my nails look like one solid color…from the other, STRIPES. You’ll see my steering wheel in the background, but I wasn’t taking pictures while driving, I promise. 😀

And I’m not a fan of the “claw” hand-pose for displaying a manicure (if you like nail blogs as much as I do, I’m sure you’ve seen it), I had to do one just so that you can see all of the nails at once. I hope you guys enjoy this post as much as I’m enjoying this manicure…

More spring-trend inspired manicures to come!!!

About The Enamelista

I'm a nail polish fanatic and amateur nail artist. (Formerly The Nail Buff)

Posted on April 13, 2011, in Trend Watch and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

