Dark Denim

UPDATE 5-3-2011: This is Dark Denim Attempt #2!

As promised, I decided to give it another try with a different method. I used the same colors, layered in the same order but I used a fan paintbrush to streak the colors down the nail. This is more what I envisioned…trying to mimic the “grain” of denim. Welp, I think I’m gonna leave the denim attempts alone…I just scored some sweet polishes at Beauty First yesterday and one my friends wants me to do something “fancy” with OPI’s Black Shatter. Come back tomorrow…. 😀

image

Original post below….

image

image

It goes without saying that denim is a staple piece most everyone’s wardrobe year-round and the blog I go to for fashion inspiration, The Sche Report, highlighted denim as a hot trend for Spring/Summer 2011. But since its creation, when has denim not been popular? Just check out these looks that were found on the Spring 2011 runways of Stella McCartney, Dries Van Noten, Derek Lam, Celine and Akris.

In keeping with my goal of creating nail art that reflects spring fashion, I had to do at least one denim manicure — Dark Denim. I will admit, this look didn’t come out as denim-y as I would have liked. I actually used 4 nails colors to create this look: OPI Dating A Royal on bottom, then China Glaze Pelican Gray, Midnight Mission, and Up All Night sponged on top (I used a ripped up makeup application sponge), one-by-one, in that order to create a layered effect. I then finished with CND’s Super Matte top coat for authenticity since denim isn’t shiny. But I think the matte finish top coat dampened the denim effect I was going for. :-/

image

Here’s a close up of one nail…can you see the different layers? If you can’t, fear not. I’m determined to give you guys a better denim manicure. In fact, as I was writing this, I was already thinking of what I can possibly do…So check back tomorrow for an update — Dark Denim Attempt #2.

About The Enamelista

I'm a nail polish fanatic and amateur nail artist. (Formerly The Nail Buff)

Posted on May 2, 2011, in Inspired by... and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment