An OPI Black Shatter Story

image

An OPI Black Shatter Story…that happened in real life

Confession: I was not in love with the idea of OPI’s Black Shatter when I first heard about it and saw those first swatches on my favorite nail blogs. Same goes for China Glaze Crackle or any of the other competing polishes. I just couldn’t understand why anyone would want to paint their nails and have no control over the result. I love symmetry. I also like nail art that I can plan and execute. Then, slowly but surely, I started seeing some really creative things done with Black Shatter…more than just applying a couple coats of one color then 1 coat of Black Shatter. My interest was piqued. So I strolled into a store I normally frequent for nail supplies thinking “well if I see it, I’ll pick it up and see what all the fuss it about…but it’s not that serious…no big deal”. And I couldn’t find it. I found this intriguing. So I waited and checked another store. They didn’t have it either! Whaaaaaattt?! I was apparently the only one not on the Shatter bandwagon. With gas prices as high as they are I wasn’t about to drive across America for 1 bottle of nail polish so I gave up the hunt. Well recently I checked out a beauty store I don’t normally go to because they’re having a huge clearance sale. And there it was — A BOWL FULL OF OPI BLACK SHATTER SITTING RIGHT THERE ON THE CASHIER’S DESK. I told myself, “Ok, don’t look too eager. It’s just nail polish after all.” So I browsed the clearance section, picked up a few Essie polishes/treatments, took my choices to the desk and casually added Black Shatter to the group I’d be taking home. I saved so much on the clearance items it was pretty much free 😀

So last night I decided to use it for the 1st time. A friend wanted me to do something “fancy” so just layering it on as a top coat wasn’t an option. For this look I did 3 coats of Orly Tiara (a fantasticly opaque silver glitter), then diagonally applied OPI’s Black Shatter. I wanted it to look like my nails were shattering—from black to silver glitter. So I tried to keep layering the Shatter on 1/3 of my nail to make it opaque…but it kept shattering and it was getting thick. This shouldn’t have come as a surprise considering that’s what it’s supposed to do. In the end, I used my handy dandy Art Deco nail striper in black to make 1/3 of my nail opaque black. I finished up with a top coat and the pics are the end result. I feel like a rock star! I’m now a believer in Black Shatter. *tips hat to OPI*

Thus ends Chapter 1 of my OPI Black Shatter story. I anticipate many more chapters in the future as I come up with more ideas of how to use it.

image

It’s the claaaawwww!

OK, seriously…there has to be a better way of showing all 5 nails at once. Somebody let me know…

P.S. My fingernails never match my toenails nowadays. They may coordinate but that’s it. I just can’t have 20 nails that are the same color. But with this mani…for a short time…my fingernails and toe nails coordinate. Check out Orly Tiara on my freshly pedicured Foot Snausages below.


About The Enamelista

I'm a nail polish fanatic and amateur nail artist. (Formerly The Nail Buff)

Posted on May 3, 2011, in Glitter, Trend Watch and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

