My Collection

There are two reasons why I felt now was a good time to post pictures of my collection.

1. Yesterday, I almost bought a color that I already owned. Something about the color in my hand seemed familiar and I’m glad I put it back before buying it because I would’ve been quite disappointed once I got home. It has come to a point where I actually don’t know what I own and what colors I’d still like to add to my collection. Time to reorganize my nail polish collection, eh?

2. Also yesterday, @OPI_PRODUCTS on Twitter asked its followers “What does your collection look like?”. I’ve only been really interested in keeping up with nail trends/collections for a little less than a year, but in the last 6 months my collection has exploded. Here’s a little photo timeline of my collection over the past six months.

December 2010

I had just gone from keeping my nail polishes in my linen closet on a little tray to a plastic shoe box. I was so proud of myself!

But by March 2011 one shoe box was no longer enough. I had also begun amassing lots of other supplies (nail polish remover, q-tips, fabric, etc) that could not be contained in 1 shoe box.

This was a mess, so I bought one more plastic shoe box to solve the overcrowding problem.

By April 2011 even 2 plastic shoe boxes wasn’t enough, so I found these little shelving units and bought 3 of them.

While they were effective at storing my nail polish, they were not good for displaying them because I had to pull each drawer completely out of the frame to see all the polishes.

Sooooo after watching some YouTube videos on  how other nail polish addicts keep their polishes organized, I decided on two 3-tiered cabinet shelving units from Bed, Bath, and Beyond to display my collection.

Here it is as of 5-9-2011 😀

I set them all up on a side table next to my couch. I actually had to stand up on my couch and shoot this picture downwards to get everything in the shot.

Here’s a pic from the front.

And from the back…Look I have more space!

Row #1 – Base coats, top coats, nail treatments, glitter top coat, shatter top coats, nail art stripers

Row #2 – Orly (16)

Row #3 – Essie (5), OPI (8 full size, 3 minis), 7 Wet n’ Wild Fast Dry

Row #4 – China Glaze (20)

Row #5 – China Glaze (8), Nina Ultra Pro (1), Ulta Professional (2), Barielle (1), Wet n Wild Megalast (1)

What’s not shown? My supplies — nail polish remover, foil for glitter polish removal, lace, tulle, nail clippers, nail files, nail polish thinner for reviving old polishes, paintbrushes, dotting tools, etc.

In the end, I had to make some tough cuts. Many of the non-professional, drug-store brand polishes were left in a plastic shoe box. I only anticipate using those colors if I need extra detailing for nail art.

So how do you display your collection??

About The Enamelista

I'm a nail polish fanatic and amateur nail artist. (Formerly The Nail Buff)

Posted on May 10, 2011, in Collection Pics and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Fierce way to display all the polishes! I don’t have nearly as many as you, and mine are squished in a makeup bag from Victoria’s Secret. Looks very organized & professional…like something out of the shop.

    • The Nail Buff

      Thanks! I didn’t spend much either. Those shelves were $7.99 each and I had a Bed, Bath, and Beyond coupon so with tax I got both for $11.64.

Leave a Reply

