Breast Cancer Awareness Month Manicure

image

This past Saturday, I was visiting all my favorite stores looking for nail polish deals and I happened upon this promotional package from China Glaze and Seche Vite at Sally Beauty for $8.99. Not only was it a great deal but I was in the market for more Seche Vite AND I loved the shade of the pink China Glaze polish, Go Go Pink. I even didn’t think twice about picking this up.

image

To create the manicure in this post, I used Go Go Pink as the base color, then sponged on Orly Pixy Stix, a darker but more vivid pink, near the cuticle of my nail and Orly Dazzle, a silver chrome, near the tips of my nails in sort of a french manicure arch. I used Orly Etoile, a iridescent top coat that is a part of their French Manicure collection, on top for a sparkly effect that can really be seen in direct sunlight. The weird thing about Etoile is the majority of the bottles I found were transparent with a slight lavender tint except one which had a slight pink tint. Yep, I bought both and used the pink tint version for this manicure…they were both so pretty! I also had a coupon so I didn’t feel too bad. I used Orly Pixy Stix to create the pink ribbon on my ring finger.

image

For your entertainment, check out Musiq Soulchild’s new video “Yes”. Musiq was recently announced as the new ambassador for Susan G. Komen for the Cure® Circle of Promise, a movement designed to further engage black women around the globe in the fight against breast cancer. His video below is a tearjerker but it is absolutely beautiful and the song is touching. Get your tissues ready! Here are a few lyrics…

When 2 or 3 years from now, you start having some doubts about if this love will last, the answer is ‘Yes’

I’ll still think you’re beautiful because I’m more attracted to what’s inside of you. You don’t have to guess, the answer is ‘Yes’ ”

*tears*

Finally, I dedicate this post to the memory of my aunt who lost her battle to breast cancer in 2007 at the age of 49. I miss her.

I hope you find some way to support Breast Cancer Awareness this month and throughout the year. 😀

About The Enamelista

I'm a nail polish fanatic and amateur nail artist. (Formerly The Nail Buff)

Posted on October 10, 2011, in Inspired by... and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

