Neapolitan Ice Cream Sandwich Nails

Lately I’ve been experiencing a writer’s block of sorts when it comes to new ideas for nail art. I’m only interested in doing original work and sometimes I just get…stuck. I have a long list of things I’d like to do but I’ve been struggling to come up with interesting, new, and different ways of painting each idea. I voiced this frustration on Twitter and I got 2 funny/great responses back. Response #1 “I’ve got an idea, Ice cream sandwich nail art! I’m hungry.” Response #2: “Neopolitan nails. You could easily do an Ice Cream series.” Well well…how about Neopolitan Ice Cream Sandwich Nails? This is for you Carmelita and Kyra!

image

For the “strawberry” and “vanilla” ice cream colors, I used China Glaze Go Go Pink and White Out, respectively. The “chocolate” ice cream and chocolate cake sandwich pieces (what are those called?!) colors were a bit more difficult. I have one chocolate brown nail polish color: China Glaze Goin’ My Way. I had to figure out a way to make it a little lighter for the chocolate ice cream and a little darker for the chocolate cake sandwich pieces. Through some experimentation of layering different colors underneath and on top, I ended up using a black layer (Wet n Wild Fast Dry Ebony Hates Chris) under Goin’ My Way for the chocolate cake sandwich pieces and a mocha layer (China Glaze Swing Baby) on top of Goin’ My Way for the chocolate ice cream. I love a good challenge! Thanks for the idea, ladies…now I want one of these ice cream sandwiches!

This wasn’t my first foray into ice cream nails. Check out my Superman Ice Cream nails post.

image

About The Enamelista

I'm a nail polish fanatic and amateur nail artist. (Formerly The Nail Buff)

Posted on October 23, 2011, in Inspired by... and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

