Mercedes Benz Fashion Week-Inspired Nail Design

Ever since I’ve become interested in nail art, I’ve looked forward to seeing how designers showing at the bi-annual Mercedes Benz  Fashion Week use nails to make a statement. But during the Fall 2012 Fashion Week (held February 9 – 16, 2012) I saw very few innovative, inspiring nail designs. In fact, quite a few designers opted for neutral-toned nails. Yawn. I did find ONE designer, however, that did some really interesting things with nails this year.

Would you look at these nails worn by models in The Blonds fashion show??!

Leather nails?! Nails covered in crushed glass/crystal?! Now I don’t know if I’d have the guts to cut up pieces of leather for everyday nails and crushed glass seems a bit unsafe…but check out the blue ombre nails in the picture below…They used very finely crushed glass and crystal, but what’s stopping me from using a very fine glitter to bring the look from the runway to real life? Nothing 🙂

For this manicure I painted the majority of my nails in Orly Fresh (a fun grassy green) and I used 3 shades of very fine glitter to create the crushed-glass-ombre effect. This was easier than working with glitter nail polish in terms of getting an opaque glitter finish, but much messier. I’m still pleased with the results.

Hope you enjoy!

About The Enamelista

I'm a nail polish fanatic and amateur nail artist. (Formerly The Nail Buff)

Posted on February 25, 2012, in Trend Watch and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

